RWJF Center for Health Policy at UNM

You are here

Senior Fellows

  • Research Professor

     Kelly O’Donnell, an economist by training, conducts interdisciplinary applied research and policy analysis focusing on local and regional economic development and improving outcomes for disadvantaged populations through public policy and investments in education, workforce development, and healthcare.   Her specialties include program evaluation, economic impact analyses, and fiscal policy. She also consults nationally on the economics of early childhood education. Prior to academia, Dr. O’Donnell held a series of leadership roles in New Mexico state government including Director of State Tax Policy, Deputy Cabinet Secretary for Economic Development, and Superintendent of the New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department. Kelly also served as research director for New Mexico Voices for Children and director of New Mexico Kids Count. She holds a PhD in Economics from the University of New Mexico.

  • Dean: College of Arts and Sciences

    Professor Peceny studies democracy, dictatorship, and the international system. Much of his research examines how liberal culture and republican institutions of government shape the behavior of democracies in international politics and how international actors shape processes of democratization within states.

  • Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science

    Kathy Powers, PhD, is an Assistant Professor with the Department of Political Science.

  • Professor, Pharmacy and Chair, PEPPOR Graduate Program

    Dennis Raisch, PhD, RPh, is a Professor of Pharmacy at the UNM Health Sciences Center and Chair of the PEPPOR Graduate Program at UNM HSC.

  • Dean and Professor of the University of New Mexico College of Nursing

    Nancy Ridenour, Ph.D.,APRN,BC,FAAN, is Dean and Professor of the University of New Mexico College of Nursing. Prior to her health policy fellowship with the Committee on Ways and Means, she was Dean and Professor of the College of Nursing at Illinois State University. She received B.S.N. and M.N. degrees at the University of Colorado and a Ph.D. at Texas Tech University. Prior to becoming dean, she served as Associate Dean for Education, Associate Dean for Practice Programs and Practice Development, and Associate Dean for the Graduate Program at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. In addition, she was Assistant Professor at the University of Colorado.