RWJF Center for Health Policy at UNM

You are here

Senior Fellows

  • Associate Dean & DIO: Graduate Medical Education

    David Sklar MD is a Distinguished Professor of Emergency Medicine at UNM Health Sciences Center. He has an MD degree from Stanford, and is Board Certified in Internal Medicine and Emergency Medicine. He completed an RWJ Health Policy Fellowship in 2012 in Washington DC, serving on the staff of the Senate Finance Committee. He has written articles on patient safety, managed care, health care quality, medical-legal issues, health care communications, medical education, medical error, emergency care, ethics, and global health. He has been Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education, Chair of Emergency Medicine and Chief of Staff of UNM Hospital. He has received the Leadership award from the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine and recently was named the recipient of the 2014 James Mills Outstanding Contribution to Emergency Medicine from the American College of Emergency Physicians. Dr. Sklar currently serves as Editor in Chief of the journal Academic Medicine.

  • Executive Director, The National Coalition of STD

    Seasoned, respected, and collaborative  leader on health equity and sexual and reproductive health polic) /advocacy with significant experience and exposure at the international, national and state levels. Success in working with Boards of Directors and in managing large budgets, projects and staff. Demonstrated ability to create and communicate complex  program and policy initiatives to potential donors and considerable experience in direct donor cultivation.  Excellent writing skills with hundreds of pieces published.  Exceptional verbal communication skills delivering speeches and talks to multiple types of audiences from national legislatures to community-based groups.

  • Assistant Professor, School of Public Administration

    Stephanie L. Smith is an Assistant Professor with the School of Public Administration.

  • Liz Stefanics is a member of the Santa Fe County Commission, District Five.

  • Assistant Professor of Economics

    Applied Microeconomics, Health Economics, and Law and Economics